Debh2010's Blog

Books and Knitting – go figure

Two More

Well, I left out an important book to movie that was actually the first one I went to after the Forrest Gump mess.  It was my own fault, as I left it in the other room.  Oh, and I’ll tell you about the one I just finished this morning when I’m done with that.

Shoeless Joe, by W.P. Kinsella.  Shoeless Joe was the book from which Field of Dreams sprang.  Both are excellent.  Initially, I was doubtful about the book, though I’m not sure why.  When I picked it up, it was skinny and looked a little too simple, and I guess I judged the book by its cover.  I was wrong. 

Here’s a bit from the back of the book:  Shoeless Joe is about baseball.  But it’s also about love and the power of dreams to make people come alive.  Will you be among the Iowa dreamers who can see a cornfield stadium filled with baseball’s greatest heroes?

It’s just as good as the movie ever hoped to be and maybe a bit better.  The screenwriter, Phil Alden Robinson (also the director), had to change a few things in the book to make a movie, but the only major change is that in the book, the writer was J.D. Salinger.  I’m not sure what caused the change from Mr. Salinger to Terrence Mann, but it doesn’t diminish the story one iota, and as a bonus, you get to see James Earl Jones in action.  The book gets **** stars and the movie gets ****1/2 stars.

on mystic lake, by Kristin Hannah.  This one is not a movie, but is a very good read if you like family dramas.  This is about Annie Bourne Colwater and how she loses herself, then finds herself, then has to go through a little more work to get it right in the end.  It’s a good one.  You don’t get a classically happy ending, but you are left with a lovely feeling of hope.  Good books do that to you.  You can laugh a little with it and shed a few tears if you’re inclined.  I liked it. ***3/4 stars.

December 26, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment