Debh2010's Blog

Books and Knitting – go figure

Huge Stack – Hope You’re Up For It…

…because I’ve been reading a TON, but I haven’t had the gumption to blog about it for weeks.  This is going to be a ridiculous list, but I’m going to do it.  Probably in reverse order.  Actually, I’m just going to work from the top to the bottom of the heap.  There will be very little discussion about each one.  If you see something you’re interested in and want more information, please let me know and I’ll address it separately.

Just finished this one a few minutes ago and it was the top book in the second stack when I put it on the “finished” pile.  A Place to Call Home by Deborah Smith.  She’s new to me, introduced by my good friend Kim White.  Thanks, Kim.  This is a romantic story, but not so romancy that you can’t stand it.  In fact, Kim’s not a big romance reader, usually, but this is a really good story.  ***1/2 stars, maybe ***3/4.

I have recently revisited The Hannah Swenson Mysteries, and have recently finished the following ones in order:

Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder, Strawberry Shortcake Murder, Blueberry Muffin Murder, Lemon Meringue Pie Murder, Fudge Cupcake Murder, Sugar Cookie Murder, Peach Cobbler Murder, Cherry Cheesecake Murder, Key Lime Pie Murder, (skipped the Candy Cane Murder for some reason), Carrot Cake Murder and Cream Puff Murder, all by Joanne Fluke.  I would have gotten them all, except for the Candy Cane one, apparently, but I have misplaced the Apple Turnover Murder and I really don’ t like to read them out of order.  Of course, now I’ll have to backtrack and see why I didn’t get the candy cane one.  I know it’s here somewhere.  This series is ****1/2 stars, and if the main character would decide on a boyfriend or accept a proposal, it would shoot to *****.  I don’ t give that out for a series very often….

1022 Evergreen Place, by Debbie Macomber.  Excellent next edition for the Cedar Cove series.  *** stars as usual.  Very enjoyable.  Comfortable series with familiar characters and just a palpable warmth.  You’d really enjoy reading this if you like a woman-focused series that deals with life and love and ordinary things.  I like it a lot.

The Glass Castle, by Jeanette Walls.   **** for living through this story and for having the marbles left after living it to put it down in a loving and informative way.  Of course, like everyone else, I’d like to have killed those parents a long time before the end of the book.  Excellent story about a “deeply dysfunctional and uniquely vibrant” family.   Some of this story is hard to read, but it’s a journey worth taking.  Thanks for the lend, Jessica.

Sophie’s World, by Jostein Gaarder.  We had a family discussion a few weeks ago about philosophy, sparked by a PBS special that discussed some of the famous philosophers.  I ran across this book in one of my favorite book-getting-places – Goodwill – and saw that it was about philosophy.  If I’m truthful, I’ll tell that I nearly passed it by, but I didn’t .  It’s a story about philosophy told to and for a fifteen-year-old girl which makes it way more understandable than I expected it to be.  I didn’t even get bored, and I’m amazed.  If you have even a passing interest in philosophy, but don’t know where to start, start with this book.  Most excellent.  ***3/4 stars.  Well worth a good read.

The True and Outstanding Adventures of the Hunt Sisters, by Elisabeth Robinson.  Good story.  A little sad, a little funny, a lot sad, a little boring, redeeming in the end.  Worth a one-time read.  **3/4 stars.

The Chocolate Jewel Case, by Joanna Carl.  I’m always looking to pick up another good series of mysteries.  I’m not going to pick this one up.  It’s not bad, but it’s just not as good as I wanted it to be.  **stars.

the condition, by Jennifer Haigh.  This is an excellent story.  I found it in a bin at Big Lots, read the back and thought “this will probably be depressing as all hell”, but it wasn’t.  In fact, I would really recommend it to anyone who likes stories about family dynamics and people wh0 have to overcome tough circumstances.  Most excellent, actually.  ***3/4 stars.

Ford County Stories, by John Grisham, aka Story Ideas Mr. Grisham had in a notebook and someone told him he could publish them and make a little scratch.  **1/2 stars.  I guess I like my Grisham in long form.  These are all short stories.  Great if you do most of your reading on the toilet.  I do my share, but I like a story with more substance, most of the time.  I really do love John Grisham, and these are good short stories, but I don’t want short stories from him.  Have I beat that dead horse enough?  I can say it again….

Genuine Lies, by Nora Roberts.  She has written so many stories, and I am constantly amazed by how good she really is.  This is an extremely good tale.  Thanks for the borrow, Jessica – I appreciate it.  ***3/4 stars.

Last and least is Daddy Devastating by Delores Fossen.  It’s a Harlequin Intrigue and pretty good for the genre, but I kept feeling like I’d been dropped into the middle of a Lifetime Made for TV movie.  Not a bad read, really, but not enough “oomph” or something.  ** stars.

I’ve been knitting a lot, but that’s not terribly surprising to anyone who knows me.  I set myself a tremendous goal for Christmas this year, but I’m considering a big modification or reconsideration of the list.  I just don’ t think the arthritis is going to let me knit all the things I think I will.  For now, I’m just keeping on keeping on.  Best I can do.

Happy Reading ALL!

September 26, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment